9 hours? Really?

So I have been consistently sleeping for about 9 hours a night regardless of when I set the alarm for. Granted other things can wake me up… but I just don’t hear the alarm unless its been 9 hours. That seems a bit excessive to me. I read somewhere on Tim Ferriss’ blog:Relax Like A Pro: 5 Steps to Hacking Your Sleep about sleep and how we complete a sleep cycle every hour and a half. So, ideally you want to sleep for some multiple of 90 minutes. Which, the 9 hour time span fits into. Although I have also found that 6 hours is completely sufficient as well. I have been aiming for 8 hours with my alarm setting, but maybe I should switch it to seven and a half.

So lets see… this week has been SO productive. And I have much more energy than I usually do, and I have been eating better just by default because I feel better. I managed to clean the whole house, top to bottom – not to perfection, but everything is improved over last week. The only thing I didn’t manage to do in the time I had alloted for it was making my shopping list, which is easy enough to put together now before I take Rene to school.

So, I think I need a gold star this week :)

Liam is curled up next to my right leg, staring up at me lovingly. Cats are so adorable.

Oh, and today’s agenda – grocery shopping, laundry, get Rene to and from school, and prepare for going to Grams house sometime tonight instead of waiting till tomorrow morning. Sounds pretty manageable, but there is a LOT of laundry to do. I discovered lots of random dirty cloth items in my cleaning so I easily have 5 loads to do, plus extra that just needs to be put away. And, I didn’t get to do much in the dining room besides sweeping, so it might be nice to clean off the kitchen table, and mop.

2 Comments

  1. Anthony said,

    September 24, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Here in lies the problem with your 90 minute theroy.. You can set the alarm for 7&1/2 hours but it’s not like you call asleep as soon as you try.. If you are trying to do 90 minute intervals the only way to really let that work is if you just let yourself wake up when your body is ready.. If you set the alarm for 8 hours and it takes you 20 minutes to get to sleep you’re doing good, but what if you set it for 8 hours and fall asleep as soon as you hit the pillow? The only way to really do this is to have someone else set the alarm for you after you fall asleep…

    I know, I’m just being an idiot.. I can function on VERY little sleep for a long time, but every once in a while it’s nice to just zonk out till your body wakes you up.. :D

  2. Jessie said,

    September 24, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I agree completely that you deserve a gold star this week! You put some of us to shame, I daresay! Hmm.. now to look up what position in the kamasutra a gold star is..hmm.. what? It’s not a…? oh.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

